Club and individual honours

Club honours during the 90's included the Ernie Morris Cup (1991, 1993 and 1998), the Golding League, later becoming the Deverill League (1992 and 1998), the Clevedon and District Over-60's League (1996 and 1997), and the North Somerset Cup (1999).

Individual honours included the appointment of John Joslin as President of the City and County of Bristol Bowling Association in 1995.

Debroy Gregory continued to do well in individual competitions, winning the City and County of Bristol Singles competition in 1998, and reaching the semi-final of the EBA Over-55 Singles that same year.

The 90's also saw two other bowlers join the Club who were to see significant success at an individual level. Terry Barnes joined in 1993, and Neil Yeoman joined as a junior member in 1995. Neil’s father Roger had also joined in 1993, and together they won the Clevedon and District Closed Pairs competition in 1998. Terry Barnes won the Portishead Open Pairs Competition with Colin Saunders three times, in 1995, 1996, and 1998, and these two together with Graham Thomas were City and County of Bristol Triples winners in 1999.

Other winners of the Portishead Open Pairs were John Powell (with P Thomas) in 1990, Roy Lee and Ken Excell in 1993,  Bob Fowler and Debroy Gregory in 1994, and Mike Trump and Tony Pearce in 1997.

Terry Barnes

Further achievements included Ken Lane as Somerset County BA Champion of Champions runner-up in 1994, Roy Lee, Ken Excell and Graham Thomas as Clevedon and District Over-60’s Triples winners in 1997, and Dave Groves and Debroy Gregory as Clevedon and District Closed Pairs winners in 1999.

Also worthy of mention is that 1995 saw Arnie Strong take on the task of Fixture Secretary - an essential but unglamorous job that he continues to do today, some twenty years on, and for which his efforts should be acknowledged.

Ken Lane